Just dreaming…

Was this a dream or nightmare?

I really did dream about this… I was a very, very greedy dog. I would not share my bones and I would scare my brothers and sisters away by growling at them real loud. I was MEAN. The worse though was that I was GREEDY…I would do my best to share but I never could get away from being greedy. One day I was really starving so I went over into the woods behind the barn paddock in search of a really big bone. I started sniffing around and soon I found a delicious bone. I was so happy! I did not have to share it with anybody…I decided to eat it over by the pond so nobody would bother me…when I got there, I looked into the water and foolishly mistook my reflection for another dog. I thought how nice it would be to snatch his bone as well. I could have two bones, oh so GREEDY! So I looked at my own refection and growled, the reflection growled back, too. This scared me, so I barked “WOOF! WOOF!”  When I opened my GREEDY little mouth, the bone fell into the pond and hopelessly sank to the bottom. It was only with the splash of water that I realized it was nothing but my own reflection and not another dog. But it was too late – I had lost my delicious bone because of my greed. Maybe this was more of a nightmare than a dream, whatever, it was a good lesson for me…the great Mahatma Ghandi once said, “Earth provides enough to satisfy every man’s need, but not every man’s greed.”

Where is my bone?

~ by leicaman on February 24, 2010.

One Response to “Just dreaming…”

  1. So that’s where she went! To the pond!

Leave a Reply

 
