Looking for the perfect Bluebonnet…

My mom is a wonderful artist. She really paints well…she even does portraits of dogs! I am sad to say though, she has never painted me…anyway, one of her favorite artists is some dude named Julian Onderdonk. He lived way back in the twentieth century! One of his favorite subjects was Bluebonnets. So Mom, Dad and my sisters were on our walk yesterday morning when we started noticing a few blooming Blue bonnets. Mom turned to me and said “Sky, will you find me the perfect Bluebonnet?” That was all I needed to hear…

"Best hurry Sky, I don't have all day!"

I turned back and said "Don't worry, I'll find it!"

This is going to be fun...

So I took off like there was no tomorrow. I knew time was of the essence so I started running and looking for a sea of blue…I was really confused because all I could see was a swath of yellow…

Where are the Bluebonnets?

I knew I was within screaming distance from Mom and Dad because I could still  hear them, “Sky! Sky! Where are you? Sky!” There was no way I was going back ’till I found Mom her perfect flower. I have to admit, it was difficult staying focused. I kept smelling little wild animals, rabbits, skunks, raccoons and coyotes. In fact I started to track these but decided to stay on task…

Wild critter tracks...

Finally my perseverance paid off, there it was! Mr. Onderdonk himself would even agree. I had to get Mom…

"I found it, MOM! I found it!"

My Mom could not believe her eyes! She said I had done it, found the perfect Bluebonnet…

"I like the Bluebonnet because a field of this Texas flower seems just to have burst from the ground and it trembles subtly, making it very beautiful" Well said Mr. Onderdonk...

I was happy but very exhausted! I had made my Mom very proud. She can’t say that about my sister Spooky…

I deserve a break...

“Bluebonnets have inspired the poet’s pen, the artist’s brush, the cowboy’s dream, and the legislator’s eloquence throughout the broad spaces of Texas. Their royal beauty and enchanting fragrance have a particular message which speaks to the emotion with compelling directness.”         -Mary Daggett Lake, 1926

~ by leicaman on March 15, 2010.

2 Responses to “Looking for the perfect Bluebonnet…”

  1. That is a beautiful bluebonnet!!!!!!

  2. Sky is the best dog – and a wonderful bluebonnet finder!

Leave a Reply

 
